I HAVE ANOTHER FAT HERO

Lynne Hurdle-Price is amazing.

She is a wife, mother, actress, writer, runs her own company (creating honest dialogue on diversity), she has a workshop series helping teens to face fear and achieve their best, she has her own entertainment production company and was a finalist for Nick at Nite’s Funniest Mom in America Contest..

Whew.

Oh, and she is also fat.

Her bio is impressive enough; but after watching the video of her presentation at TEDxWomen, I was totally blown away.

http://tedxwomen.org/speakers/lynne-hurdle-price/

She talks about her experience as a fat child; how her family loved her almost unconditionally, telling her that she could do anything and was as good as or better than anyone – except when it came to her size.  She talks about a beloved dance teacher shaming her about being fat in front of a group of students.  And she talks about how those experiences created long lasting wounds.

Many of us have been down the same path that Lynne Hurdle-Price started out on; but few of us have ended up where she has – learning to love and accept herself.

Lynne Hurdle-Price believes that the only way to fight hatred is love, loving ourselves and loving others, and she talks about what a difference putting down the weapons of hatred can change so much.

I wish I could be as loving a person as Lynne Hurdle-Price.  I have to confess, I am not there.  I still have a lot of anger over how fat people (including myself) are treated.  I still seethe over the misconceptions and outright lies about fat people that permeate society.

I love people.  I really do, and I try to appreciate each person for their own uniqueness.  What I don’t love is how people treat other people.

I admire Lynne Hurdle-Price and I think she is a better person than I will ever be.

That doesn’t mean that I don’t think I am pretty wonderful, it’s just that I believe she has certain qualities that I don’t have or that I’m unwilling to develop – at least at this point in my life.  I am just happy that there are people like her in this world.

Love is not only something you feel, it is something you do. – David Wilkerson

 

3 thoughts on “I HAVE ANOTHER FAT HERO

  1. Hi.
    I haven’t heard of this person before, so thank you for bringing her to my attention. I have her Tedx video bookmarked to look at next.

    I want to challenge something you said, though. Anger is not the opposite of love. Anger is not the equivalent of hate. If you have ever felt angry at the actions of someone you love, and you still love them, that is a little proof for you.

    I agree with the things you have summarized as being Hurdle-Price’s beliefs. I have studied conflict transformation (I’m getting a Master’s in it). I think it is essential to rehumanize people, including yourself and those you vehemently disagree with. That does not mean you have to not be angry or not act against oppression and injustice. Feeling anger, like feeling pain, is a warning signal to yourself that something is wrong and needs attention.

    I discovered fat acceptance/liberation a couple of years ago. I am still working on loving myself unconditionally. It is a process of decolonizing/deprogramming myself from a lifetime of messages that tell me (and everyone) that we aren’t ever good enough as we are. I have been fat since I was 8. The fatphobia in our society adds an extra shitty layer on top of the general dehumanization which is encouraged, as is true of other marginalized group identities.

    Bottom-line, please do not take your continuing anger as a sign that you are deficient in some way. Anger at injustice is a sign that your empathy “muscle” is working properly.

    Also, I hope that what I am saying doesn’t sound condescending, etc. I decided to comment because I have had people say similar things to/about me and my “negative” (i.e. refuse to be bullied or denigrated and point out oppression when I see it) attitudes. So, it’s an internal struggle I have waged and hope that I am on the far side of.

    • Thank you so much for your comment. I really appreciate your pointing out how anger is not the same as hate. Your points are well taken (and well explained). What I want, personally, to work on is separating my hate of the behavior from my feelings toward the person.

  2. Thank you so much for the comments and sharing my talk. I have spent decades working on my own heart and feelings toward myself. What is interesting is that I was so brainwashed I never hated those who said negative things about my weight, I was angry at me for not losing the weight. So now that I am discovering all that I have to offer the world I have no time to be bothered with their comments. I do however get annoyed at the negative and disgusting comments I see on many social media sites with regard to this subject. I just take in the good ones like yours, educate those who are willing and ignore the rest.

Leave a Reply

