Betrayal

I feel betrayed by someone who seemed like a friend.

I’m an avid listener of the Tell ‘Em Steve-Dave podcast, led by Bryan Johnson, who is a friend of movie director Kevin Smith. Overall it’s the funniest podcast that I listen to, actually, the funniest anything that I listen to. (Bry is also “beard guy” on the TV show Comic Book Men.) Bry has a quick wit and charm, and the other two guys, Walt Flanagan (also on CBM) and Brian “Q” Quinn, are excellent foils. They talk about anything they feel like, they seem like regular guys, and they make me laugh out loud more than anything (not always, but often).

But yesterday they did a segment called Fat News. This had been developing as an informal segment over the past few weeks, but now it seems like it will be every week. Bry even called for a listener to make theme music for the segment, and provided fart and belch sound effects for the theme. He then read a story about how doctors are biased against fat patients (no duh), and the boys expressed sympathy . . . for the doctors. I don’t want to get into what they said specifically, because (1) I was skipping over a lot of it, and (2) it upsets me.

There has been some anti-fat humor on the pod before, but it’s mostly been self-deprecating. (Bry is fat, as is Kev Smith.) There were also one or two putdowns of Honey Boo Boo’s mother a few months ago, but they were countered a few weeks after that, as Bry defended that family against celebrities who were criticizing them.

For now, I’ll keep listening, and will skip over the bad stuff. I went through the same thing with Jon Stewart a few years ago (as did Tante Terri), and that’s what I do with The Daily Show. But TESD will never again be what it had been to me.

6 thoughts on “Betrayal

  1. Maybe, just maybe, if Fat Activism becomes more and more visible and these people are called out by some of their fans, things could change. People, especially intellegent people like Jon Stewart and Kevin Smith, would be able to see that what they’re doing is prejudiced. I would hope so anyway.

  2. That’s happened to me several times. I do lose respect for that person after that and have a hard time listening/watching from then on without thinking they’re full of crap! Sorry it happened to you!

Leave a Reply

