THIS FAT OLD LADY IS FEELING LIKE SUCH A WRITER

I missed blogging yesterday.

My reason for missing blogging was I was tired.

I was tired because we drove to a Con (FogCon). FogCon is being held in Walnut Creek – about 60 miles from our home. It took 2 hours to get there. It took 2 hours because traffic was a fucking nightmare. Even though the 680 Freeway North is an infamously bad drive, a good part of the freeway does not have a carpool lane. Slog, slog, slog.

And my bad knee makes driving incredibly painful.

So when we got to the Con hotel, we checked in, went to the room, and I stayed there until 9:00 AM the next day.

So why do I feel like such a writer? Because I am at a science-fiction/fantasy literary Con and I am in the game/quiet room with my computer blogging! Whoo-hoo.

Okay, I admit it. I am easily amazed and amused.

One of our favorite authors/songstresses, Seanen McGuire is a Guest of Honor and she actually recognized us as we came in last night and dispensed hugs (hugs are always a goodness). And it turns out the partner of someone we know from the fat community is chairing the Con!

It’s a small world after all … (now get that out of your head, I dare you. Mwha-ha-ha)

One of my favorite jokes is, “There is no point to the Small World ride at Disneyland, unless you bring a bucket of baseballs.” But I digress …

Also picked up a couple of books by other friends of ours – Gerald Nordley and Candy Lowe! We’ll be seeing them in 2 weeks at Contact (I run Registration for that convention).

So even though I am fumbling through typing this (I am used to an ergonomic keyboard and I am not comfortable with the little touch/mouse pad thingy – that keeps taking me to places I do not want to be on the page), I am feeling literary as fuck.

2 thoughts on “THIS FAT OLD LADY IS FEELING LIKE SUCH A WRITER

  1. I never knew you guys were so close to where I live! I’m an East Bay girl, myself. Hope you’re having a blast at the Con.

Leave a Reply

