What do I want for the fat community?

I want every fat person to know that there is nothing wrong with being a fat person; that fat people can be everything and anything – beautiful, respected, lovable, fun, busy, healthy, active, smart, caring, happy, desirable, talented, and (you fill in the blank with your own dream).

And I want people who are not fat to understand that fat people can be all of these things too.

Really, I guess, I just want fat people to be able to see themselves as “people” and to be treated as “people” — not fat people. To be treated no better or worse because of my size. To be deemed worthy or unworthy based on my own personal merits, not on what number shows up on the scale.

Isn’t that all anyone wants?

3 thoughts on “What do I want for the fat community?

  1. Well said! People look at a fat person and think they know something about his/her behavior. That’s flat-out prejudice! Why is that so hard to understand?

Leave a Reply

