Stealing Fat Children

The authorities say it is “rare”, but it certainly has happened too many times … removing a fat child from his or her home because the child is fat.

This is every parent’s nightmare.  To have their children taken away from them; but this seems to be happening more and more often with fat children – especially if the parents are fat.

First, haven’t they ever heard of genetics?  Fat people are more likely to have fat children, and it has nothing to do with eating and exercise habits. 

Second, have you ever tried to feed a child who doesn’t want to eat?  Force feeding a child is about as impossible as … well, as maintaining long term weight loss.

You might also note that poor people and minorities are more likely to have fat children.  Two groups that usually don’t have the resources to mount an effective legal battle to keep their children.  And these are two groups that often don’t have access to the type of medical care necessary to determine if something else is causing unusual weight gain.  Unfortunately, they become “easy targets” of a fat hating society.

Some people say, the parents shouldn’t “allow” their children to eat so much.  I’m not even going to argue that — what I will say is I don’t recall ever hearing of a bulimic or anorexic child being taken away from their parents because the child was “allowed” to eat too little or “allowed” their child to purge or “allowed” their child to engage in compulsive exercise. 

And of course, the fact is there are lots of different reasons for a person to be fat; and some (if not a lot) of those reasons have nothing to do with eating and exercise.  And the other fact is when you bring a fat child to see a doctor, the first (and often only) treatment plan is to lose weight; without any consideration of any possible underlying cause. 

I was a fat kid.  I weighed about 100 pounds in first grade.  But I was healthy and active.  My sister was not a fat kid.  She was healthy and active.  Same family, different results — because even though we were related, my sister and I are unique individuals.

This is the kind of thing that shows just how bad fat hatred has become in our society.

This is fat discrimination in possibly it’s worst form.  To deny someone their family, simply because of what they weigh.

4 thoughts on “Stealing Fat Children

  1. I was a fat kid too. The idea that someone would take me away from my parents who, pardon the phrasing, loved the shit out of me for how I looked? That’s upsetting. To subject any child or parent to that for such a ridiculous reason. It’s like saying “We’re going to take your child away from you because they are SO SHORT”

  2. Sadly it is so much more common in general for families of lower socio-economic status to be targeted by child welfare personnel. And guess what, due to pervasive job, racial and gender discrimination fat folks are much more likely to be of lower socio-economic status and unable to mount a legal defense against such atrocities. I find this appalling, especially when they take children away to control their weight(i.e. through dieting) because their parents either tried unsuccessfully to put their kids on diets or refused to abuse their kids in this way. It’s fairly well known in the research data that dieting only leads to eating disorders and binging yet it is still routinely “prescribed” by doctors and social workers.

  3. Hmmm….

    “First, haven’t they ever heard of genetics? Fat people are more likely to have fat children, and it has nothing to do with eating and exercise habits.”

    and

    “I was a fat kid. I weighed about 100 pounds in first grade. But I was healthy and active. My sister was not a fat kid. She was healthy and active. Same family, different results — because even though we were related, my sister and I are unique individuals.”

    …So what point are you trying to make exactly? So it’s genetics, but your family was exempt from that rule?

    • The point I’m making is that there are LOTS of different reasons for people to be fat. Genetics applied in our family because I take after my mother’s side of the family – all fatties. My sister takes after my father’s side of the family – not fatties. What I’m saying is you can’t predict what causes people to be fat, yet in the case of stolen fat kids the system appears to believe it all comes down to overfeeding and lack of exercise.

Leave a Reply

