TEARS FOR THE YOUNG FATTIES

Why does watching Huge make me cry?

Because it puts me back in touch with all the crap we put ourselves through when we’re young.  Especially when you were a young fatty. 

I hope people watch and see how fucked up the thin people on the show are; that being thin does not make them happy or well adjusted. 

I hope people see that the people who are happy are not perfect; they simply know and accept who they are. 

I wish I knew then what I know now. 

Mostly, I hope young fatties watch the show and realize what a waste of time it is to worry about the number on a scale.  You are beautiful now.  You are wonderful now.  You are worthy of love now.

7 thoughts on “TEARS FOR THE YOUNG FATTIES

  1. What I like about the show is that many of the characters are fat – from barely plus-size to supersize. As Marianne and Lesley pointed out in one of their Fatcasts, it’s presenting large bodies as normal, and showing them as athletic, as sexual, as – well – NORMAL.

    I like that.

  2. yea i love this show too, and yet find it diffulct and very emotional to watch. I am finally actually making a stab at recovery from bulimia (rather than lying to everybody and continuing to purge…not so much bing but purging definately) and the show is so very cathardic for me, i cant watch it in front of my kids because i have to explain too many painful issues.

  3. I love the show and love the fact that they are just young kids as said in the comments above.Being a fat kid was hard for me – there just was no safe place- and watching these kids is helpful to me.If only I had had fat peers like I do now!! I love the wonderful character of Will.She thinks outside the box.<3

  4. Pingback: 2010 in review « Fatties United!

Leave a Reply

