Weight Watchers – Discrimination

 Like I don’t have enough reasons to not like Weight Watchers (now it’s not a diet – yeah, and my ass chews crackers and whistles Dixie).

 Even if you lose 118 pounds using Weight Watchers, going down to a size 12 from a size 24, and keep that weight off for more than 5 years (really beating the odds), and have the requisite job skills, you are still not good enough to work for Weight Watchers as a national trainer.

 This lady really is a fan of WW (or at least used to be), and yet she was told during an interview (that had seemingly been going very well) that her BMI was too high for WW to hire her for the position!  WTF.

 http://jobs.aol.com/articles/2010/08/31/weight-watchers-biased/?ncid=webmail

 Unfortunately, unless this happened in Michigan, Washington DC, Santa Cruz, or San Francisco, it is not actionable. 

 And why isn’t this all over the news?  Don’t you think people who go to WW might be interested in knowing about how WW is treating one of their own?

 By the way for a really good look at weight loss system (including weight watchers) results check out:

http://fatfu.wordpress.com/2008/01/24/weight-watchers/

6 thoughts on “Weight Watchers – Discrimination

  1. Well, I assume the trainer has to function as “thinspiration” in addition to doing her actual job. If I ever believed that WW were doing their thing in an attempt to watch out for fatties, this might enrage me, but that is so clearly not the case. Setting goals that are as hard to reach as possible is practically, actually quite possibly, in their business model.

    • Well, I assume the trainer has to function as “thinspiration” in addition to doing her actual job.

      …something tells me this means WW is more likely to hire naturally thin people instead of people who’ve used WW to lose 100+ pounds.

      It’s not even about _losing weight_. It’s about being thin.

    • It’s been brought to my attention that the position this woman would fill doesn’t actually involve dealing with clients. I am officially outraged! What kind of bullshit is that!?

  2. And why isn’t this all over the news? Don’t you think people who go to WW might be interested in knowing about how WW is treating one of their own?

    No. When you’re swallowing the self-hate tracts sufficiently enough to pay that much for a weight loss program, it’s easier to think “well, she should lose more weight. It’s healthy.”

    I was actually told by a naturally thin person once, who was full to bursting with fat-phobia that I should never ever be able to have even the most occasional of occasional ice cream cones if I’m not at my “goal weight”. Needless to say, that was a push for me towards FA since it became apparent to me that her stance was not about health (because I tried to explain that for a lot of people, it’s much healthier to think moderation instead of outright exclusion of any food), it was about hatred of fat people.

    Even though I can see through that sort of thing now, I can tell you truthfully, I would not have batted an eye at it 5 years ago, hell, even three years ago I would have been nodding along with the company and applauding their rightness in trying to “inspire” this woman to live more “healthfully”. It’s all bullshit of course, but never underestimate the power of wanting to believe in living “thinfully” ever after and wanting to believe companies like WW really DO have your best interest at heart.

Leave a Reply

