My Fat Arms

I was in a production of No No Nanette (aka N3); when the director told the lady playing the role of Flora (the bombshell), not to worry because he would never humiliate her by letting her go onstage wearing a sleeveless dress.  It was clear he found the idea of exposing her upper arms absolutely disgusting.

Really?  She would be humiliated by letting her upper arms show?

Now this lady is a perfect off-the-rack size 14.  Absolute hour-glass figure, with all the curves in the right places.  She’s a fabulous dancer, with the muscles that go with that too.  There is not a thing in the world wrong with her upper arms.

I was so angry; and she wasn’t very happy with him either.

Fast forward to the yearly auditions for this group.  I got up, took off my jacket to show my sleeveless dress and said “This is for Flora!”  And whenever I audition and I know this guy is going to be there, I go sleeveless.  Who the fuck does he think he is?

Before this, I admit I was kind of loathe to show my fat upper arms, and they are indeed very fat, and flabby, and flappy.  But now I take joy in them.  They are so much fun!  They wibble and wobble and flap in the breeze!  They are the source of constant entertainment.  And if someone doesn’t like seeing them – that’s their problem. 

One lady I know refers to them as her “angel wings”.  I like that too!

So folks, I hope the next time you are wavering about going sleeveless, if you can’t do it for yourself – do it for Flora!

3 thoughts on “My Fat Arms

  1. I’ve heard “Bingo Wings”, too. Ha-ha! Good for you! I just started to bravely bare my arms, too! It’s such an incredibly empowering thing. It is amazing to me that anyone would think anything strange about seeing someone’s fat arms or skinny arms or muscled arms and whatnot. We’re all the same, right?! Just slightly larger or smaller, etc.
    Thanks for this.

  2. One of the most liberating moments in my life was deciding to bare my arms and shoulders. Especially here in the sub-tropics where it’s so incredibly hot and humid in summer. Having these babies free in the breeze is such a good feeling!

Leave a Reply

