Fat Tap

Now that I am done with 2 years of school (while working full time), I am feeling the need to get this fat body moving a little.

My preferred way of getting things moving is tap dance! 

I am not great at it but I enjoy it.  And I think that is the key to any form of exercise.  (I hate to call it exercise, because truthfully, I DON’T LIKE TO EXERCISE, but I can’t think of another term.)  You work up a sweat and it can be as intense a workout as you want – very easy to modify.

When I was a 6 years old, my mom took me to tap class.  They taught us heel-toe, heel-toe, brush, brush, brush.  And that is what we did – lesson after lesson, week after week.  I was bored out of my mind, so I quit.  But I never lost my desire to learn to tap.  I have done some tap in shows, and I have taken some lessons.  Now I just get DVDs and work from them.

My one rule, for myself and fat tap is that I do not “catch air”.  There are no hops or leaps going on.  I guess you could call it low impact tap.  If the lesson calls for a hop or leap – they get a heel drop.  Same sound, happier knees and ankles. 

If you are not able to stand up for a long time, you can do a lot of it sitting down.

And I have seriously considered getting a walker, for stability and lift when I’m tapping, and using that so I can catch air – and I SWEAR I thought of this before I saw the musical version of The Producers and the tap dancing little old ladies.

So if you’re looking for something fun to add a little movement into your life, you might want to consider fat tap!

One thought on “Fat Tap

  1. This is awesome. I took tap in high school for a few months and loved it! Unfortunately, the class was only a few months long. But that’s awesome you can buy videos on it, I might have to look into that. I’ve recently gotten into the Just Dance Wii game which is super fun, and as with Fat Tap, can be made as low or high impact as you want. The added advantage is, as with working off of videos, you’re in the comfort of your own home, and you don’t have to worry about looking like a goofball in front of anyone but yourself if you screw a move up the first couple times.

    P.S. I LOVE the idea of using a walker with this, I immediately thought of The Producers when you wrote this. You ought to learn that routine!

Leave a Reply

