Happy Thanksgiving

Awhile ago I was seeing on blogs something where people listed “x” number of things that made them happy or they were thankful for – or whatever (can you tell I paid a lot of attention to this?).

Even though I did not pay attention at the time, I do think it is a good idea to start (and keep) a list of what makes you happy, what you are grateful for, what you love about yourself. 

I think these lists are important because (a) we tend to pay more attention to something that we have actually written down; and (b) when you can’t think of anything to be thankful for, or happy about, or proud of, that is when you need these lists the most.

I don’t think it is necessary to add to the list on a daily basis.  Sharing the list is fine, but it is mostly there for you, when you need it.  Maybe you should delay e-mail the list to yourself, so when you least expect it, you can receive an e-mail full of your own personal joy!  (I might do that myself.) 

I tend to put my lists in notebooks, and every now and then, when I’m cleaning out the bookcase, there it is, and I take a little time to look back and reflect on how I and my life have changed, what has become important what less so.  I think it’s nice to reconnect with the person you were and see who he/she became. 

I hope you all have long and wonderful lists, but even if you have just one thing on your list, it is good to remember that you have been given a gift to enjoy and reflect upon.

Happy Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

