Kevin Smith, again

Kevin Smith is a movie director who is most famous for Clerks, but has in recent years branched out from his more famous characters and themes.  Amazingly, he recently finished principal photography on Red State, a religious-themed horror film, and finished editing it two days after filming.  He showed an essentially finished film at the wrap party.  This is unheard of.

He’s also a fat man, which makes him more of a hero in my eyes.  I’ve written about him here before because he engaged in some fat activism after he was kicked off a plane by Southwest on February 14 of this year.  I think he made an excellent effort, but ultimately the mainstream media accepted Southwest’s account and not his.

But one thing he seems to do often is make fat jokes about himself, and I don’t like that.  Not because I’m worried that he has a poor self image, but because by making fun of himself as a fat man, he’s saying that it’s OK to make fun of fat people.  This in spite of the fact that he was a fat kid and was picked on as a kid for being fat.  This in spite of the fact that he understands how teasing can be damaging, and in fact recorded a podcast in support of the It Gets Better project a month or so ago.

Check out smodcast.com; today’s ‘cast (#147) is a good example.  I really want to acknowledge the good things he did after 2/14/2010, but I’d like him to stop with the fat self-hatred, even if he’s just kidding about it. 

What do you think?

7 thoughts on “Kevin Smith, again

  1. You’re right, Kate. And I’m sure he would rather not believe that his actions might make things worse for fat kids. But I think they can, so I wish he wouldn’t do it.

  2. I thought Kevin Smith’s version of Southwest fell on deaf ears as well, but I was teaching a fat rights article one day to some undergraduate students and one of them brought it up because it really upset (very skinny her–I include this only because I’m always surprised (and shouldn’t be) when non-fatties have a sense of injustice about all this). She said something along the lines of “Can you believe what they did to Kevin Smith? Kicking someone off a plane because they are fat?”
    That makes me think he might of had a bigger impact than I had realized. Of course there were also a few kids who snorted when I said “fat rights” so ya know, you win some, you lose some.

  3. That’s good to hear, Jackie. Even so, your story illustrates how Kevin didn’t get his side of the story out, because his fatness was not the actual reason he was kicked off (even though that became the story). If you’re interested I can summarize the story here . . .

  4. I agree, Veronica. Last night he posted a new podcast, Plus One, recorded with his wife Jen Schwalbach, and she berated him for (among other things) all the fat jokes. If she can’t get him to stop, what chance do I have?

  5. Pingback: Betrayal « Fatties United!

Leave a Reply

