My Fat Ass Looks for a New Doctor

And so the battle begins.  Sigh. 

Got an e-mail from the prospective doctor, telling me,

“YourBMIis immensely concerning.I believe any worthy Physician will be raising Questions on your weight on every encounter. Obesity is a Chronic disease just as Diabetes, Hypertension and hyperlipidemia and needs to be addressed as aggressively.”

Okay, not a good start.  However, I am willing to see if she can be open to discussion and information.  My HMO limits me to only 1000 characters (and I had a lot more than 1000 characters to respond with – or I could have just used 7 characters:  f*ck you), but I think I did a fairly good job summarizing what I felt needed to be communicated:

          I have been fat all of my life. And believe I enjoy reasonably good health.

         As far as I know, there is no long-term effective way to attain significant weight loss known to science with treatments resulting in ultimate weight gain.

         Studies have shown that many health benefits attributed to weight loss are achievable through fitness (and fat people who exercise for health are more likely to continue with exercise than fat people who exercise for weight loss).

        I have recently had an unexplained significant weight gain. I asked my RNP about it, and she attributed it solely to metabolism without any further inquiry. This worries me.

        I have lived a long time in this fat body and know it pretty well and know when something odd is going on.

         Please let me know if you are willing to be my primary without the diet and weight talk, and partner with me in achieving health benefits through exercise, fitness, and good food choices.

Her response:

     Your BMIis immensely concerning.I believe any worthy Physician will be raising questions on your weight on every encounter.Obesity is a Chronic disease just as Diabetes, Hypertension and hyperlipidemia and needs to be addressed as aggressively.

Back to the drawing board.

What irritates the hell about this situation is that they look at me and decide they know what kind of life I lead.  They decide I have or am going to have certain health issues even though my numbers clearly show this is not the case.  How about finding out who I am, what I am already doing for my health, what MY concerns are and maybe addressing those? 

Would they be happier if I came in and said yes to all the diet talk and then went home and did as I please?  Would they be happier if I actually dieted (so they could say they “saved” me) and then when the weight comes back they get the fun of berating “my” failure?  Fuck that.  I think there should be honesty – on both sides – in a healthcare relationship.  I will be honest about what I can and cannot do and what I will and will not do.  I would think a physician would appreciate that. 

My HMO did have a weight-neutral policy for awhile, but apparently that has gone away.  Not too surprising because weight-centric brings in the money.  But I thought HMOs were supposed to be about efficiency and cost-effectiveness.  What is efficient or cost-effective in dieting,WLS, etc.?  It is a waste of time, dangerous, can lead to higher medical care bills.  Am I missing something here?

THE GOOD NEWS – I chose another doctor.  Sent her an e-mail about what I was expecting, and she welcomed me to her practice, with a note agreeing that there is no quick solution for obesity. 

Not perfect (since she’s implying there is a solution at all, or that it is a condition that has to be “fixed”), but it shows she actually read my e-mail and absorbed what I have to say.  So I’m going to give her a shot.  Wish me luck!

5 thoughts on “My Fat Ass Looks for a New Doctor

  1. Would they be happier if I came in and said yes to all the diet talk and then went home and did as I please?

    Probably. Then they could say, “The patient was agreeable,” and the insurance company would get off their back for a few seconds. Doctors who have two brain cells to rub together know that most of their fat patients are not going to become permanently thin; the track record is dismal. (A doctor in the last city I lived in put it this way: “If we could flip a switch and make everyone thin, that would be one thing. But it’s always a battle. Always.”) But the insurance companies make them do this shit, unless the doctor is a rebel who says, “Fuck ’em, I don’t care about the spiff.”

  2. “I believe any worthy Physician will be raising Questions on your weight on every encounter.”

    Sigh… So, she’s saying that she already plans to spend some of your limited time together telling you over and over again that you’re fat, just in case you’re not aware of it. Why does this even begin to make sense in her mind? Not only the content of these questions (which she should understand are futile, if she’s done even a little legitimate research on weight), but the repetitive, badgering nature of them?

    It’s as if they think that nagging is a valid weight loss treatment.

    Sigh.

  3. Ugh, you can read the fat hate in every poorly written word.

    I hope you can find a decent Doc, I know I would be lost without mine. When she decides to retire it’s going to be very, very difficult to find one that measures up.

  4. Quite aside from the fat hate, I wouldn’t see a doctor that can’t spell. Dyslexia is one thing; but that’s not how dyslexics write. Also, she doesn’t answer you, she sees one thing and then is hellbent on spouting the ‘appropriate’ boilerplate she has been taught to consider the correct reaction to anything related to fat (‘obesity’ by her vocabulary).

    This shows she not only can’t spell, she doesn’t think. How somebody like that got through medical school is beyond me.-

Leave a Reply

