FAT BABIES

Apparently, some pregnant women are participating in a trial of a drug that is supposed to prevent their babies from being fat.

I am appalled.  I am more than appalled – but I can’t think of a word that means more than appalled. —- horrified.  That’s it – I’m horrified.

What kind of woman would allow a drug to be tested on their unborn child?

I caught shit for my posting on Facebook about this.

I was told how women are bullied and manipulated by society and doctors into believing the worst thing that could ever happen to their child is for the child to be fat. 

I understand that.  But at some point, people need to take responsibility for their own beliefs and how they apply those beliefs to their children, especially their unborn children.  Sometimes I get so tired of the victim mentality.  I know it exists.  I know you shouldn’t blame the victim.  But come on, this is something meant to affect the growth of your unborn child in the womb.

The drug is metformin, which has been around for a very long time, and in fact, is taken by many pregnant women who either have diabetes or develop gestational diabetes.  Since there are already a lot of women who need to be on this drug, why not study the long term effect on their babies?  Why give it to women who don’t need the drug?

The idea is that the metformin will reduce the food supply to the fetus, so the fetus will not grow too large (thereby reducing the need for C-section births, and other problems associated with a large fetus).  I’m not a doctor, but that sounds like a really bad idea to me.  What we don’t know about how the human body works and what it needs (especially when it’s developing in the womb) is a lot. 

Metformin can increase the risk of hypoglycemia – a quick drop of blood sugar which can be brought on stress, illness, too much exercise, etc.  Very dangerous for mother (and I would assume it doesn’t do much good for the baby either).

Some people develop lactic acidosis, which can be fatal.  The symptoms include:  Muscle pain or weakness, numb or cold feeling in arms and legs, trouble breathing, stomach pain, nausea with vomiting, slow or uneven heart rate, dizziness or feeling very weak or tired.  You know, the kind of things a pregnant woman might expect to feel from time to time. 

Metformin also can affect your body’s absorption of vitamin B12, something your unborn child needs for nerve development.

And metformin should not be given to a child under 10 years of age!  Ummmmm, but it’s okay for a preborn?

I have no doubts that this is the result of big pharmaceutical joining forces with fat-phobic healthcare, all with the blessing of a fat-phobic society. 

I just pray that it’s not the children end up paying for societies’ fear and intolerance for fat people.

8 thoughts on “FAT BABIES

  1. I read something about that too, and my first thought was that there is another drug that is known for causing low birth weight… nicotine. And how many years have pregnant women been told not to smoke because it causes low birth weight (among other things)? But apparently as long as it isn’t being caused by something else perceived as being low class, it’s ok to encourage infants to be born undersized?

  2. This cosmetic manipulation is horrific, disturbing and it’s a sign as to society’s obsession with size/looks/vanity/insanity or whatever you want to call it. I need to read an article about this drug, but I can’t believe that the medical community is allowing this to happen.

  3. Starving a fetus in the womb is probably just going to make them even BIGGER after they’re born. This whole ‘study’ is made of fail, so much so I can’t believe they’re even trying it. I wrote about this last week sometime over at my blog. Just gobsmacked I was.

  4. This is aweful and horrifying! And no, you don’t get to say you’re not to blame for something like this ’cause you’re a victim (too). I’ll accept a lot of things from people who have been victims themselves, but if your actions negatively affect someone who is helpless, and whom you are directly responsible for, then that is on you.

  5. I get so angry when I read about this. Metformin prescribed as a diet drug is a medicalised eating disorder. It makes you poo and it makes you spew, and you lose weight because you’re SICK. It has legitimate applications for those with insulin issues, but to be prescribed as a diet drug in ANYONE, let alone unborn babies is fraudulent and quackery.

Leave a Reply

