You Never Know

I am feeling a bit pleased and proud of myself.

I got an e-mail, that had been sent to all the staff at the law office I work for, saying that they were going to do a Biggest Loser type game for the staff.

Total trigger for me.  I’m furious.  I don’t want to do this, I don’t want to hear about this.

So I sent an e-mail to everybody at the office saying, “Please do not put me on copy for any of this.  I am a proponent of size acceptance with a focus on health and not weight.”

What I did was take care of me.  If other people at work want to do this, that is not my problem.  None of my beewax.  As Samuel Goldwyn once said, “Include me out.”

And now I know that several other staff members have now spoken up about not wanting to participate or even hear about this.  One acknowledging that I had put into words what she felt.  Yea me. Yea them.

I feel like not only did I stand up for myself, but I helped some other people stand up for themselves.  To tell the truth, I was a bit surprised that other people at the office would feel as I do.

So when you stand up for yourself, you may be helping or educating others.  You never know.

9 thoughts on “You Never Know

  1. Congratulations. You should be very proud. You showed self-esteem & you showed great courage to stand up for yourself & you helped others find the courage to stand up for themselves. That is a pretty big accomplishment.

  2. Good for you!

    I have to admit I’m not as far along my size acceptance journey as you seem to be – this would make me nervous! I’d be worried that everyone would be thinking, “Of course Fatty McFatpants doesn’t want to participate.” Of course, who really cares at the end of the day?

  3. How totally inappropriate for a business, to suggest that staff try and change the way they look!! Or even if management didn’t start it, to have fostered a culture where somebody thinks that’s OK. Bizarre. Why don’t they institute an ‘let’s improve our underwear’ game as well. Makes as much sense.

    • I love it! Let’s improve our underwear! I’ll have to remember that if any of the “losers” decide they need to talk to me about my position (unlikely as that may be).

Leave a Reply

