MAMMOGRAMS AND MY OLD FAT BOOBS

Had the yearly squish done.  (And yes, it’s important – do it ladies.)

The squishing itself was not outrageously painful (I think it depends on whether the tech is a fan of the Marquis de Sade or not).  But there was another problem.

I have big old boobs (which perfectly match the rest of big old me), and the skin under them tends to be moist, tender and fragile.  I didn’t realize it at the time, but in positioning my boobs on the glass between the tugging and sticking and the metal edge of the machine, the skin where the underside of my boobs connects to the rest of me was torn under one breast – not enough to bleed but enough to leave a raw exposed wound.

Owwwwwwwwwwww.

Because of where the wound is located, it was difficult to deal with it – I just wanted to keep it clean and dry until it healed over because until then every time I moved it hurt like hell.  I ended up using Neosporin and covering the area with a Pambra® bra liner.  Took a few days (of some pretty intense misery) but it finally healed up.

Now I am pretty sure I am not the only person who has sweaty boobs (if I was, Pambra® would be out of business).  And I know there are hygiene concerns with the mammogram machine – but couldn’t they find a way to provide a disposable padding to place between the metal and the rest of me, so my skin would slide instead of sticking and tearing?

I don’t know if this has ever happened to any of you, but it’s something to be aware of.  Be careful and make sure the tech is equally careful, and don’t be afraid to speak up for yourself.  I know from here on in, I’ll be warning the tech beforehand and doing my best to make sure this doesn’t happen again.

4 thoughts on “MAMMOGRAMS AND MY OLD FAT BOOBS

  1. I’m in the same boat; I almost always get a tear under a breast when I have my mammo, and don’t realize it until I’m showering the next day and the area stings! Then, once the tear has “woken up” so to speak, it takes several days to go away.

    Kathy

  2. I have severe psoriasis and the skin under my breasts is usually ripped open without the pleasure of a mammogram. I don’t recall the only mammogram experience I had resulting in tearing though. As it was my only experience, I have nothing to compare it to, but the whole experience wasn’t nearly as horrible as I feared it would be.

Leave a Reply

