ANY HELP FOR THIS OLD FAT LADY?

Question:

Is there an existing organization, place, or group where fat people and those who support them can unite to improve the lives of fat people?

I envision a place where fat people are encouraged to live their best possible lives where and who they are now.

I envision a place where all fat people and all people who support the rights of fat people are welcome.

I think one of the main issues that divide the fat community is the issue of weight loss. Therefore, I envision a place that is free from any weight loss dialogue. There are already places where the pros and cons of this issue are discussed.

For example, I currently have 1500 followers on Pinterest. The vast majority of my Pinterest boards are related to (what I perceive to be positive) images of fat art. I love Pinterest. I love all the wonderful images I find there. I love all the size acceptance I see there. But I’m looking for something more.

I am asking that you share your thoughts on this, and provide me with any information on resources that are currently available.

Thank you.
This Fat Old Lady

4 thoughts on “ANY HELP FOR THIS OLD FAT LADY?

  1. Are you looking for a virtual or a physical space?

    Either way, the closest things I can think of are things like this blog or Ragen Chastain’s Fit Fatties Forum, which is a safe place to talk about exercise and athletics in a body shame-free environment.

    I think a fully interactive online community that covers a wide variety of aspects of fat life in a similarly shame-free atmosphere would be an amazing resource. If you decide to start one, count me in to help out any way I can. I don’t know how to code and I don’t have any money, but I’d be happy to help moderate or spitball ideas, or whatever.

  2. I would also be interested in being part of such a community, Terri. I love your fat positive images on pinterest, but I agree we need more.

Leave a Reply

